pizzachef-thumb.jpg “Can you believe this, Yaw? The pizza delivery guy brought us the pineapple special. Uugh! I asked for pepperoni salami! I gave him a piece of my mind!”

“Mog, the delivery guy had nothing to do with screwing up your pizza order. His job was simply to deliver.”

“Oops… You’re right, Yaw. My reaction was uncalled for.”

“Allow me to put that in a political context, Mog. The same goes for the intelligence on Iraq. The CIA informed the White House there were no weapons, but in spite of that, Bush went and invaded the country–a reaction that was uncalled for. Now he goes blaming the CIA for his actions.”

“But don’t you think, Yaw, that all along, he had another purpose in mind? The CIA is being used as a scapegoat.”

“True, Mog. Bush is saying: Look what you made me do. Go and invade a sovereign country for the purpose of finding weapons of mass destruction. You said there were none, but you didn’t give me what I asked for. Meanwhile I get rid of Saddam Hussein, which was a good publicity ploy. But more importantly, I needed a reason to justify our acquiring exclusive rights to their oil.”

“The problem, Yaw, is that this line of reasoning is far too complicated for the average person to comprehend.”

“You’re right, Mog. They are all going to think that it’s the CIA’s fault and Bush is white-washed. The reaction to the message was its deliberate mis-use and that is where the blame should go.”

US Senate Report on Iraq to Focus on CIA, not White House

Colin Powell affirms that there are no WMDs in Iraq

update:
BBC | 2005.03.31 | US Intelligence Credibility Suffers Blow

“Facts” Derived From Intelligence: Bush wanted to remove Saddam, through military action, justified by the conjunction of terrorism and WMD. But the intelligence and facts were being fixed around the policy… suggesting that the policy of invading Iraq was determined by what the Bush administration was presenting as “facts” derived from intelligence.