“Mog, what did you think of the homily today on Luke 6:27-38?”

“Love your enemies? Do good to those who hate you? Implore God’s blessings on those who hurt you? If someone slaps you on one cheek, let him slap the other? God is kind to the unthankful and to those who are very wicked?

“Yaw, do you expect me to do those things because these are Christian virtues? How, in heaven’s name, can I believe in a God that is kind to the wicked? No no, Yaw. I may be Christian by religion, but when it comes to resignation and loving your enemy, I am Christian in name alone.”

“What about the Talmud’s Tallion Law, an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth? Do you think that’s the alternative?”

“That sounds like anarchy, Yaw, but that’s Justice. If someone were to slap me, I wouldn’t hesitate a minute to slap him back. If I turned the other cheek, that moron is going to go around slapping everybody else because no virtuous Christian is going to stop him.

“As Father François-Xavier said, the circle of violence must be broken. I don’t know if you can consider the circle broken by being on equal footing, as one slap in return for one slap. But I think you cannot consider it broken by turning the other cheek.”